News Update


Six Nations 2024: Ireland captain Caelan Doris starts with Stuart McCloskey as they take on Italy.

One of the six changes made to the Ireland squad for Sunday’s Six Nations encounter against Italy is the recall of Ulster center Stuart McCloskey.

McCloskey returns to partner Robbie Henshaw after not being included in the matchday squad for the victory in France last week.

rear row For the first time, Ireland will be captained by Caelan Doris, while Peter O’Mahony is not in the team.

Jamison Gibson-Park is replaced at scrum-half by Craig Casey, while Jack Crowley stays at fly-half.

The return of Finlay Bealham, James Ryan, Ryan Baird, and Jack Conan results in four changes in the Irish pack.

Since Conan is now in the starting lineup, Doris moves from number eight to openside flanker.

Calvin Nash, Crowley’s teammate at Munster, also keeps his position at out-half following his try-scoring debut in the bonus-point victory over France.

“Italy is very close to taking a few significant victories.”Ireland must avoid an upset against Italy after dominating France. Nash plays in an unchanged back three alongside Hugo Keenan and James Lowe.

Ryan will pair Leinster’s Joe McCarthy—another outstanding Six Nations debutant from last week—in the second row, with Tadhg Beirne sidelined.


Captain O’Mahony is not included in the matchday 23, and Garry Ringrose is sidelined again following his shoulder injury that kept him out of the France match.

Among the 23 are missing are Bundee Aki and Tadhg Furlong, who both began their careers in France.

Tom O’Toole and Iain Henderson of Ulster are called up to replace the forwards, while Harry Byrne is expected to receive his third cap in the role of out-half replacement.

In addition, Jordan Larmour will receive his first cap since 2021 as Farrell switches back to a 5-3 forward-back lineup after starting with 6-2 against France.

Ireland: Keenan; Porter, Sheehan, Bealham, McCarthy, Ryan, Baird, Doris, Conan; Nash, Henshaw, McCloskey, Lowe; Crowley, Casey.

Kelleher, Loughman, O’Toole, Henderson, Van der Flier, Gibson-Park, Byrne, and Larmour are the replacements.

Italy: Fischetti, Lucchesi, Ceccarelli, N Cannone, Ruzza, Izekor, Zuliani, Lamaro (capt); Pani, Brex, Menoncello, Ioane; P Garbisi, Varney.

Nicotera, Spagnolo, Zilocchi, Zambonin, Vintcent, Page-Relo, Allan, and Mori are the replacements.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *