News Update


Tour de France Femmes 2023: Yara Kastelijn wins stage four and gets her first WorldTour win.

Yara Kastelijn won stage four of the Tour de France Femmes to get her first WorldTour win.

Lotte Kopecky came in 14th, so she kept the yellow shirt for the leader that she got on the first stage.

Kastelijn, from the Netherlands, was one of 14 riders who broke away. In the last 20 kilometers, she rode alone and finished 71 seconds ahead of the group that was chasing her.

“It’s really a dream, I can’t believe it,” the 25-year-old former European cyclo-cross winner said.

“I really think it was a team win, since I didn’t have to do anything all day.

“The other girls in the front group were mad at me, but my teacher told us we’re not here to make friends. We want and now have a win, and I’m very happy about that.

Demi Vollering came in second after getting away from the pack and cutting 16 seconds off Kopecky’s overall lead to move into second place in the general classification.

Annemiek van Vleuten, who won the Giro Donne earlier this month, was two seconds behind Vollering. She and three other riders moved up to joint third in the general standings.

This year’s longest stage was from Cahors to Rodez, which was 177 km.

On Thursday, stage five of the eight-stage race goes from Onet-Le-Chateau to Albi.

Stage four results

1. Yara Kastelijn (Ned/Fenix-Deceuninck) 4hrs 38mins 39secs

2. Demi Vollering (Ned/SD Worx) +1min 11secs

3. Anouska Koster (Ned/Uno-X) +1min 12secs

4. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned/Movistar) +1min 13secs

5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Lidl-Trek) Same time

6. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol/Canyon SRAM Racing)

7. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (SA/AG Insurance-Soudal Quick-Step)

8. Celia Le Mouel (Fra/St Michel-Mavic-Auber 93)

9. Kathrin Hammes (Ger/EF Education) +1min 23secs

10. Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ger/Ceratizit-WNT) Same time

General classification

1. Lotte Kopecky (Bel/SD Worx) 15 hrs 47mins 25secs

2. Demi Vollering (Ned/SD Worx) +43secs

3. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (SA/AG Insurance-Soudal Quick-Step) +51secs

4. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol/Canyon SRAM Racing) Same time

5. Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita/Lidl-Trek)

6. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned/Movistar)

7. Yara Kastelijn (Ned/Fenix-Deceuninck) +1min

8. Liane Lippert (Ger/Movistar) +1min 39secs

9. Juliette Labous (Fra/Team dsm-firmenich) +1min 48secs

10. Cecilie Ludwig (Den/FDJ-Suez) +1min 49secs


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *