News Update


IPL 2023: Akash Madhwal scores 5-5 as Mumbai Indians beat Lucknow Super Giants in the Eliminator

Mumbai Indians trounced Lucknow Super Giants in the Indian Premier League Eliminator, with Akash Madhwal scoring 5-5.

Cameron Green struck 41 off 23 balls and put on 66 with Suryakumar Yadav, who batted 33 off 20 balls, to lead the five-time champions to 182-8 victory.

Lucknow reached 69-2 in the ninth over of the chase, but fell to 101 all out after losing eight wickets for 32 runs.

Mumbai will now compete in Qualifier 2 against Gujarat Titans for a spot in the final.

Mumbai batted first and batted well, despite captain Rohit Sharma and fellow opener Ishan Kishan fell during the powerplay.

Green and Suryakumar’s strokeplay, on the other hand, maintained the run-rate high.

It was approximately 10-an-over when Naveen-ul-Haq, who had already eliminated Rohit, removed both Suryakumar and Green in the 11th over with a pair of brilliant slower balls.

Mumbai were slowed for the following few overs by Lucknow, but after being subbed in, impact batsman Nehal Wadhera blasted a quickfire 23 off 12 balls to lift the Indians to an above-par total.

Madhwal dismissed Prerak Mankad in the second over of the reply, and England seamer Chris Jordan dismissed Kyle Mayers two overs later.
Lucknow, on the other hand, swiftly rebuilt with Marcus Stoinis and skipper Krunal Pandya at the crease.

However, just when the Super Giants appeared to be on track, the innings unraveled.

To begin the collapse, Pandya holed out off Piyush Chawla, and Madhwal claimed two wickets in two balls in the following over, dismissing Krishnappa Gowtham and Nicholas Pooran.

The unnecessary run-out of Stoinis for 40 almost guaranteed the outcome, and two more run-outs followed before Madhwal castled Mohsin Khan to seal an overwhelming victory midway through the 17th over.

What is the schedule for the IPL playoffs?
With Lucknow out, only three teams are in contention for the IPL title.

On Friday, Mumbai will face the defending champions Gujarat Titans, who fell in Qualifier 1.

The winner will face Chennai Super Kings in the final on Sunday in Ahmedabad.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *