News Update


Manchester City wins the Premier League for the third year in a row after Arsenal loses.

Manchester City have won the Premier League title for the third time in a row after Arsenal were defeated at Nottingham Forest.

The Gunners, who led for the bulk of the season, are now four points behind City with one game remaining after being defeated 1-0 on Saturday.

Pep Guardiola’s team has won the league title in five of the last six seasons.

With the FA Cup and Champions League finals coming up next month, they have a chance to complete the treble.

Only Manchester United achieved that feat in 1998-99, and it is their derby rivals that City will face at Wembley on 3 June, before facing Inter Milan a week later in Istanbul, where they will seek their first Champions League title.

City will get the trophy following their match against Chelsea on Sunday (16:00 BST).

“The Premier League is without a doubt the most demanding and competitive league in the world, so that tells you everything about what an achievement this is,” said captain Ilkay Gundogan, who has scored four goals in the last two league games.

“Winning this trophy three years in a row and five years in a row is incredible.” That level of quality and consistency encapsulates everything Manchester City stands for and ensures the club will continue to strive for success in the future.

“It has been a season I will never forget.”

City, champions for the ninth time in club history, trailed Arsenal by eight points on 7 April, despite having played one game fewer than Mikel Arteta’s leaders.

It is only the fourth time in Premier League history that a team has been as much as eight points ahead after at least 28 games and failed to win the title.

Only one team has ever had 69 points with 10 games remaining and failed to win the league. That was Liverpool in 2018-19, when they finished second to City with 97 points.

However, City have won 11 consecutive league games and dropped just two points from a possible 42 to leapfrog Arsenal and seal the title with three games remaining.

“Arsenal have pushed us right to the limit,” full-back Kyle Walker remarked. “They’ve been fantastic, and all credit to them, but I think we just went on an incredible run and ended up where we are now.” They’ve had a few hiccups, and we’ve taken advantage of them.

“It’s the players we have.” We’re a group of guys who have accomplished a lot in recent years and realize the standards we’ve set.”

‘An unstoppable juggernaut,’ where will Manchester City’s domination end?
10 key moments in the Premier League title race
Manchester City latest news, analysis, and fan opinions
Receive Man City news alerts
City became only the fifth club in English history to win three consecutive Premier League titles, joining Huddersfield Town (1924-26), Arsenal (1933-35), Liverpool (1982-84) and Manchester United, which achieved it twice under Sir Alex Ferguson (1999-2001 and 2007-09).

It is also the third time Guardiola has won three league titles in a row, having done it in La Liga with Barcelona from 2009-11 and in the Bundesliga with Bayern Munich from 2014-16.

Manchester United last won five Premier League titles in six seasons between 1996 and 2001, during which time they also won the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League.

United also won seven titles in nine seasons from 1993 to 2001, as well as five titles in seven seasons from 2007 to 2013, indicating that City’s current dominance is not unusual.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *