News Update


Mark Cavendish’s record for most stage wins in the Tour de France is taken away by Jasper Philipsen.

Mark Cavendish was going for a record 35th stage win at the Tour de France, but Jasper Philipsen beat him in Bordeaux.

On stage seven, Friday, Britain’s Cavendish took the lead in the final sprint, but Philipsen passed him just before the finish line.

Cavendish and Belgian legend Eddy Merckx share the record for the most Tour stage wins with 34 each.

With the win, Philipsen won his third stage of the Tour so far this year.

Jonas Vingegaard of Denmark, who won the race last year, kept the yellow jersey for overall leader.

Stage seven results

1. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Deceuninck) 3hrs 46mins 28secs

2. Mark Cavendish (GB/Astana-Qazaqstan) Same time

3. Biniam Girmay (Eri/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert)

4. Luca Mozzato (Ita/Arkea-Samsic)

5. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned/Jayco-AlUla)

6. Jordi Meeus (Bel/Bora-hansgrohe)

7. Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Bahrain Victorious)

8. Bryan Coquard (Fra/Cofidis)

9. Alexander Kristoff (Nor/Uno-X Pro)

10. Mads Pedersen (Den/Lidl – Trek)

General classification after stage seven

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo-Visma) 29hrs 57mins 12secs

2. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) +25secs

3. Jai Hindley (Aus/Bora-Hansgrohe) +1min 34secs

4. Simon Yates (GB/Team Jayco-AlUla) + 3mins 14secs

5. Carlos Rodriguez Cano (Spa/Ineos Grenadiers) + 3mins 30secs

6. Adam Yates (GB/UAE Team Emirates) +3mins 40secs

7. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +4mins 03secs

8. Romain Bardet (Fra/DSM) +4mins 43secs

9. Thomas Pidcock (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) Same time

10. Sepp Kuss (US/Jumbo-Visma) +5mins 28secs


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *