News Update


Somerset beat Essex to win the T20 Blast trophy for the second time.

Somerset overcame Essex in Edgbaston to end an 18-year wait for a second T20 title.

After winning the trophy in only its third year, when they defeated Lancashire at The Oval in 2005, this was their first T20 Blast victory at Edgbaston.

And they did it in spectacular fashion, protecting scores of 145 or less twice to defeat 2003 initial winners Surrey and then 2019 winners Essex to become Kings of the South.

Following Kent’s victory in 2021 and Hampshire’s a year before, the West Country triumphed in the second all-Southern Finals Day in three years.

And they won in spectacular fashion, with Tom Kohler-Cadmore taking a stunning one-handed catch to dismiss Daniel Sams for 45, just as he threatened to win the game for Essex with some late hitting, and giving Matt Henry a fourth wicket.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *