News Update


Somerset defeats Essex to win the T20 Blast trophy for the second time.

Having won the trophy in only its third year of existence when they beat Lancashire at The Oval in 2005, this was their first T20 Blast triumph at Edgbaston.

And they did it in remarkable fashion, twice defending scores of 145 or less, to beat 2003 inaugural winners Surrey in the second semi-final and then 2019 winners Essex to crown themselves Kings of the South.

In the second all-Southern Finals Day in three years, after Kent’s triumph in 2021, and Hampshire’s a year ago, this time it was the West Country who came out on top as Somerset closed out a campaign in which they had already set a record for most wins in a qualification group.

And they clinched the last of this summer’s 15 victories in 17 games in thrilling style with a stunning one-handed catch by Tom Kohler-Cadmore.

His outstretched left arm removed big-hitting Australian Daniel Sams for 45, just when he threatened to win the game for Essex, to give Matt Henry a fourth wicket, and his 31st of the tournament.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *