News Update


The 2030 World Cup will be hosted in six countries across three continents.

Fifa has declared that the 2030 World Cup will be contested in six countries across three continents.

The co-hosts are Spain, Portugal, and Morocco, with the first three matches taking place in Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay.

The opening matches in South America will commemorate the 100th anniversary of the World Cup, which began in Montevideo 100 years ago.

The decision is expected to be approved by a Fifa conference next year.

Only bids from the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be considered for the 2034 finals, according to Fifa.

Following that decision, Saudi Arabia stated that it would bid to host the event for the first time in 2034.

Fifa’s decision to spread the competition across different continents has sparked outrage, with one fan group accusing the sport’s governing body of engaging in a “cycle of destruction against the greatest tournament on Earth.”

“[It’s] horrifying for supporters, disregards the environment, and rolls out the red carpet for a host with an appalling human rights record in 2034.” “The World Cup as we know it has come to an end,” declared Football Supporters Europe.

“In a divided world, Fifa and football are uniting,” stated Fifa President Gianni Infantino.

“The Fifa Council, representing the entire football world, unanimously agreed to commemorate the centenary of the Fifa World Cup, the first edition of which was held in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way.”

“In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents – Africa, Europe and South America – six countries – Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay – welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the Fifa World Cup.”

Uruguay’s Montevideo, which hosted the inaugural World Cup event in 1930, is set to host the opening game in 2030, with matches in Argentina and Paraguay following.

The remaining 48 teams in the event will then travel to North Africa and Europe.

Because of the hemispheric shift, World Cup teams may find themselves competing in two separate seasons at the same competition.

If the 2030 plan is approved, Morocco will be the second African country to host a World Cup, following South Africa in 2010.

Spain was picked as a co-host just weeks after former football federation chief Luis Rubiales resigned in the aftermath of criticism for kissing Jenni Hermoso at the Women’s World Cup.

Rubiales appeared in court and was granted a restraining order by a Spanish judge, although he denied sexually abusing Hermoso.

Spain last hosted the World Cup in 1982, when Italy won it for the third time.

Portugal has never hosted the event, however it did host Euro 2004.

Uruguay, Argentina, Paraguay, Spain, Portugal, and Morocco will all qualify automatically as co-hosts, as they have in previous World Cups.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *